Making my own forums/site?

This is the place to ask for help or discuss the latest in technology

Moderator: redwarrior666

Making my own forums/site?

Postby Droxor » Wed Jan 30, 2008 4:56 pm

So I have never done this before (except on Guild Portal, which I do not want to use) And Im completely clueless.

What I want is to have a website with its own domain name (i.e. www.MerchantsGuild.com/org/net w/e) where I can settup forums as well.

1 - Where do I go for that
2 - How do I design it
3 - How much does something that that cost?
----
My plan is to make a Pirate of the Burning Sea community dedicated to Merchants and Traders, however I have stumbled across the fact that on my server there is no website set up yet to co-ordinate Raids on Ports, so I have begun gathering numerous amounts of Community names to contact once I have a site that does that.

I am taking the opportunity of the 1 website everyone will use to co-ordinate raids, and will also use this to advertise the Merchants Guild I will be making.

These forums will also have a members section where my merchants can talk to each other, trade, get price rates and overall community.
----
However I have no idea how to do any of this as far as the site goes and thought I would ask you guys for help :D
Droxor
Lieutenant General
Lieutenant General

Postby FloobieDoobie » Wed Jan 30, 2008 6:00 pm

I use 1and1.com and they are pretty cheap, I pay 9$ a month for a couple gigs of through put, 2500 email addresses, 5 domains and up to 50 mySQL databases.

There are a ton of guild styled web sites out there just take a look at a fewe of them and see how much customization you can handle, examples are phpBB and SimpleMachinesForums
WWFD?
FloobieDoobie
Major
Major

Postby McGuyver » Wed Jan 30, 2008 8:56 pm